Skip to Content

Uses for "Action/Resource Dice" mechanic

3 replies [Last post]
sedjtroll
sedjtroll's picture
Offline
Joined: 07/21/2008

First let me define what I'm referring to as the "Action/Resource Dice" mechanic. It came up in another thread from a suggestion by Zaiga...

At the beginning of each "round" (or game turn, or whatever), 3 dice are rolled. On each player's turn, they assign 1 die result to each of 3 things... the production of a resource, the generation of income, and the resolution of some action from a list.

Obviously, more dice could be rolled, or instead of a number of resources, the number on the die could indicate WHICH resource out of a list is produced... the key point is that there is a restriction as to how much and or which resources are produced, as well as which actions are available, and those limitations are related to each other, and the same for each player.

So what can be done with this mechcanic? Let's here some suggestions as to theme and resources/actions in this thread.

- Seth

Epigone
Offline
Joined: 12/31/1969
Uses for "Action/Resource Dice" mechanic

Here's a space-civ skeleton using 4 dice as an easy example.

Allocate to 4 areas:

VPs: Roll a d6. If you roll no more than #pips, gain 1 VP. (OR gain #pips/2 rounded down VPs)
Money: Gain #pips money.
Research: Gain #pips research.
Actions: You may execute any actions between 1 and #pips this turn.

1) move ships
2) gain money from planets
3) gain research from planets
4) trade money for ships
5) trade research for new technology
6) colonize planets

Here planets would have a money value and a research value... you have to use the valuable 6 on Actions to ever be able to colonize... you'd pretty much always want to pick the action die to be at least 3 except maybe early on... I'm not sure I like that, but it's *an* example.

sedjtroll
sedjtroll's picture
Offline
Joined: 07/21/2008
Uses for "Action/Resource Dice" mechanic

Epigone wrote:
Here's a space-civ skeleton using 4 dice as an easy example.
I like a lot of the things you say here:

Quote:
VPs: Roll a d6. If you roll no more than #pips, gain 1 VP. (OR gain #pips/2 rounded down VPs)

Why not just take the #pips in VPs? If everyone gets the same dice, then it's not as if that's not fair... I think that could allow for a fairly interesting 'low tech' strategy, where you always take as many VPs as you can, and make do with lower level overall actions and less income. A contrary strategy might be to take fewer VPs each time, and try to outweigh that by researching and upgrading and whatever.
Quote:
Money: Gain #pips money.
Research: Gain #pips research.
Actions: You may execute any actions between 1 and #pips this turn.

I especially like that you said "1-#pips" here. This way the base action, in this example 'move ships', can always be taken - even if a 1 is not rolled. I think that's important.

And the ascending importance of actions is also good, goes along with the mechanic well.

Good example!

- Seth

Julius
Offline
Joined: 12/31/1969
Uses for "Action/Resource Dice" mechanic

Risk Modification

At the start of your turn, roll three dice. Assign them as follows:

1: Command Points
2: Reinforcements
3: Special Actions

Command Points - It now takes 1 command point to use troops in one country to attack another. However, once you have declared the attack, any number of attacks may be made from that country to the one chosen using the spent command point.

Reinforcements - You earn a bonus number of infantry equal to the die value. Add these to the normal ammount of reinforcements you earn at the start of your turn.

Special Actions - You can pick an action from this list equal to or less than the die value. These are decided at the start of your turn.
#1 - Plant a Flag. Pick a territory you control. Units in this territory add +1 to the highest defense die rolled until your next round.
#2 - Supply Line. At the end of your turn, you may make two defensive adjustments, rather than one.
#3 - Recon. You may look at another player's earned cards.
#4 - Wild Card. You may treat one of your cards as a wild card if you trade them in this turn.
#5 - Earn Medal. Draw an extra card if you conquor two or more territories this round.
#6 - Furious Assault. You may roll up to four attack dice when attacking this round, rather than three.

All other Risk rules apply normally.

Syndicate content


forum | by Dr. Radut