Skip to Content

Can BGDF critique my rules?

5 replies [Last post]
edgd00
edgd00's picture
Offline
Joined: 01/05/2011

I need help with the rough draft of the rules of my game, Dragon Blast: Battlestorm. Can you guys please critique it and give me some constructive pointers? Don't worry about the layout, that will change. This is just a rough draft of the text. I want to make sure its understandable and free of errors. My goal is to keep it as short as possible so players can get into the game relatively quickly. I am limited in space, so I can't put in lots of graphics and diagrams. In the end it will need to be 4 pages, double sided with 3 columns. I can't format it that way yet because Google Docs lacks the functionality. Any input anyone can give will be invaluable. Thank you!

Here is the text:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/15XB7oh5Amco9F-ZATiSCFvLfEeuqUn50Wq_D...

For some background on this game, you can go here to see the first edition of it: https://www.thegamecrafter.com/games/dragon-blast

These new rules are for the upcoming second edition.

kos
Offline
Joined: 01/17/2011
Nice improvements

I've played the original Dragon Blast, and it looks like version 2.0 is an improvement. In particular, I like the look of:
- No player elimination
- Winning condition encourages aggressiveness and discourages turtling
- Alternative ways to earn victory points through secret missions
- Vengeance cards provide a catch-up mechanic

On to the rules themselves:

The "mulligan" rule lets players discard their hand and draw 6 cards, but then the first thing they do on their turn is to draw their hand up to 7. Is that deliberate?

If I am at Maximum Power and spend a power token to move an extra space, do I lose Maximum Power? Reading the rules literally, I could spend all 5 power tokens on movement and then unleash an Ultra Attack as well. Is that deliberate? (Actually I quite like it the sound of that.)

The rules do not state what to do with Vengeance cards once they are drawn. I.e. are they put in your hand, or face up on the table? Do they count towards hand size?

Regards,
kos

xenosus
Offline
Joined: 09/29/2012
As far as the mulligan rule I

As far as the mulligan rule I would suggest doing what Dominion does and have you draw after you discard. That way you are penalized for having to mulligan.

tl;dr: draw phase at end of turn

edgd00
edgd00's picture
Offline
Joined: 01/05/2011
Thank You!

Great insight on the new features. You are entirely correct on their purposes.

The "mulligan" rule is a remnant from older versions of the rules. It has eluded termination long enough. I removed it as it no longer has any meaning.

Any time you have less the 5 Power Tokens, you lose Maximum Power status. So taking damage or deliberately losing them will cause you to "power down". (Hmm, Power Down....that could be a card!) I fixed the text to address this.

Vengeance cards go face-up in front of players and do not count as cards in hand. I fixed the to address this.

Thanks for your help Kos! You always have great input!

edgd00
edgd00's picture
Offline
Joined: 01/05/2011
Latest version

Here is the latest version of the rules, feedback welcome: https://www.dropbox.com/s/cktksp0k6djmss2/Dragon%20Blast%20Battlestorm.pdf

xenosus
Offline
Joined: 09/29/2012
maybe it is just me, but all

maybe it is just me, but all the lowercase "d"s are missing from your pdf

Syndicate content


forum | by Dr. Radut