Skip to Content

MY Metro 2033 game..............I could use your help.

7 replies [Last post]
jer1bil

So I have created a game set in the world of metro 2033. Originally I never planned on doing more than playing it with family and friends but a year later we are still playing it and love this game. I know there is a original metro 2033 game published and am looking for opinions or options on how much I need or should change. The game is nothing like original and uses no character names. The game is great because of the mechanics and game play more than story but I like my world as is. Mine is closer to a rail game where players use a metro train to travel the subways fighting mutants with dice and gathering supplies for a battle to take over the metro. Its been titled simply "Metro" as well.
This is my first step before hopefully going to kickstarter someday.

baberahamlincoln
Not an expert

I'm not an expert on this by any means, but here's my thoughts.

I've played Metro 2033 on the PC, so am somewhat familiar with the story and background. I'd say if you are concerned about having it seem too close to the Metro 2033 world, that you avoid the following

- references to near future Moscow / Russia - perhaps basing it in a different country, at a different time (alternate history London or New York, where maybe there was a nuke / chemical attack during WW2 that forced people to live underground, or a 1990s post cold war communist attack against Tokyo or Washington DC)
- telepathy monstrous dark mutants - mutants can come in lots of different shapes and sizes, maybe try to avoid anything that looks / feels like the dark ones,
- communists / fascists / nazis - if factions / groups play a part, maybe try and avoid the same ones that exist in the eastern Europe / Russia area of Metro 2033. Maybe go with Capitalists, Libertarians, Green Party, an old Religious faction, or a new "mutant lover" religious faction or something like that.