Skip to Content

2nd Edition Quest - Take 2

2nd Edition Quest - Take 2

Okay,

So I followed Casamyr suggestion with the top button: it states the value of the card. The color of the button is used to illustrate the rareness of the card. Rareness goes from Red (Rare), Orange (Uncommon), Yellow (Common), Green (Uncommon), Blue (Rare) and Purple (Ultra rare).

The second button is used when cards are paired with each other. The score from the top button get adjusted with the 2nd button (Plus or minus) if the color of the card matches the button. So if the button is Green and if the card is green, you apply the value (again either plus or minus).

Comments welcome.

In the sample card, the card is Rare (Blue) and has a value of 5 Victory points. The card if matched with a Red card lowers the value by -2 Victory points (3 Victory points).

Comments

More interesting possibilities

Well last night it came to me in the middle of the night. I knew that I did NOT want to make the additional buttons about scoring... It just over complicates the game making players need to try to keep track of scores while playing.

So what is it that those 2 buttons will do: enable advanced play. Let me explain.

So originally the card values (At the top left of each card) allow players to determine if they can complete a quest or require another card to help in the adventure. The *skirmish* mode will preserve this and allow a younger audience of gamers the possibility of learning a simpler game play. In skirmish mode, rules are as before:

-A Hero* must have MORE points than a Monster*
-If he does not, he may use an Item and together Hero*+Item must have MORE points than a Monster*
-A Monster* must have MORE points than a Treasure*
-If he does not, he may use an lair and together Monster*+Lair must have MORE points than a Treasure*

Okay so let's talk about those which will be used in a second mode of play: *battle* mode.

In battle mode, the top button indicates how many optional cards MUST be played. So if a Hero* has a top button value of 2, well the point value of the item card must be 2 or the player must have 2 cards with 1 point each...

This would be redundant because the point value of cards (Top left corner) would be too high. That's what the second button is for: plus (+) or minus (-) score points. So if a Monster* has a score of 5 and the second button has a -2, the Monster* actually has a score of only 3 points!

What effectively the 2 buttons do is dynamically allow quests to be completed with more or less cards (according to the values on the 2 buttons). This is nice because it changes the rules of the game by requiring more cards to complete quests correctly! :D

Interesting. Firstly, I

Interesting.

Firstly, I think you meant that red is a common card :-).

Secondly this will make you think about the cards you play and the +/- effects that could occur. Does the modifier button (the bottom one) affect all cards or just the next played card. By this I mean

Say I play the potion with the Blue 5 and red -2. The next card I play is Sword with red 1 blue +2. Since I played a red card I have 3 Victory points due to a matched red card, +1 for the button, but does that blue +2 count to the first card played, or only to additional cards. ie do you get 6 VPs (5+1-2(red modifier)+2(blue modifier) or stay at 4 (5 - 2(red modifier) + 1)?

I hope that makes sense.

Colors and buttons

Casamyr wrote:
Interesting.

Firstly, I think you meant that red is a common card :-).

No Red is Rare... See the values of the card follow a BELL curve: on the left and right are cards LESS present, in the middle of the curve are cards MORE present. So it turns out that both extremities are Rare, then as you work towards the inner part of the bell curve, the cards are Uncommon and then in the middle you get the Common ones (Yellow).

So the bell curve goes like this: Red (Rare), Orange (Uncommon), Yellow (Common), Green (Uncommon), Blue (Rare) and Purple (Ultra Rare).

Casamyr wrote:
Secondly this will make you think about the cards you play and the +/- effects that could occur. Does the modifier button (the bottom one) affect all cards or just the next played card. By this I mean

Say I play the potion with the Blue 5 and red -2. The next card I play is Sword with red 1 blue +2. Since I played a red card I have 3 Victory points due to a matched red card, +1 for the button, but does that blue +2 count to the first card played, or only to additional cards. ie do you get 6 VPs (5+1-2(red modifier)+2(blue modifier) or stay at 4 (5 - 2(red modifier) + 1)?

I hope that makes sense.

First you cannot play a Sword with the Potion. These are BOTH items. But you can play a Champion (Hero - Human) and a Sword (Item - Sword).

The COLOR of a card is not determined by the buttons. It is determined by the "book" (Background of what the buttons are on...)

So a Potion (Blue 5 and Red -2) means if the card is combined with a Hero who is Red (example: an Archer), this card scores -2 VPs (or 3 VPs).

Having one button as a base value and the 2nd as a modifier works more clearly. Had I put 5 (Blue) and 3 (Red) which is the same in principle, would make it tougher to distinguish between which is the base and which is the modifier... Yes you could SAY top button base and bottom button modifier (as a rule) but I think the way I have the two button setup is more understandable...

The cards are played in PAIRS:
-A Hero with An Item
-A Monster with A Lair
-A Treasure with A Character

A Hero, A Monster and A Treasure are REQUIRED cards, while An Item, A Lair and A Character are OPTIONAL cards.

Syndicate content


image | by Dr. Radut