Skip to Content

BGDF P-500?

12 replies [Last post]
mistre
mistre's picture

This post is in response to the whole Print and Play idea. Not wanting to hijack the post with my own idea, I started a new thread.

I personally, like others, am not at all interested in Print and Play. There are just too many high quality games out there for me to want to mess with PnP. As stated before, PnP is pretty limited to card games and supply your own components which really won't cut it for a majority of designs on BGDF. Face it, we all want our games to be published! Plus, as a game designer, I would rather spend my free time designing my own games (which also require printing) than printing out other games.

Now what I WOULD be interested in would be some sort of indie game P-500 service (see http://www.gmtgames.com/t-GMTP500Details.aspx for more details on the business model) . What if BGDF sponsored such a service (on a separate website) where we could submit our finished prototypes? We could upload our rules and pictures of our finished prototype to the website and even provide background info. There would have to be some sort of fee for this service, and I don't claim to even guess what it would cost to emulate the P-500 model, but you can't deny that the interest would be there on the game designer's end. Even if games did not garner enough interest to get printed, perhaps the real publishers out there would see that a game had some interest and would contact the designer about publishing their game. Or a real publisher could co-sponsor the site.

The idea behind this would make it easier for indie designers to have a better shot of having their finished designs published and cut down on the excessive time that publishers sit on prototypes before providing feedback.

Please someone who knows more about publishing games chime in and let me know if this idea is at all feasible or just some sort of pipe dream.

jwarrend
Cool idea!