Skip to Content

Top 100 Games ~ #100 - #91 ~ Making the Cut!

20 replies [Last post]
The Professor
The Professor's picture

As a developer and designer, I'm often asked, with great frequency, what are my Top 'x' games and what games have influenced me. To that end, I certainly invite you to engage in a conversation about games and how they influence us as designers.

https://boardgamegeek.com/blogpost/114753/top-100-games-100-91-making-cu...

So, to kick off the conversation:

- What games do you enjoy and would make your Top 100 and why?

- What games have engaged you as a designer?

- What games, IYHO, best epitomize a particular mechanic?

Cheers,
Joe
Professor's Lab

Rick-Holzgrafe
Rick-Holzgrafe's picture
Favorite Engine-builders

Okay, I'll bite.

I love engine-builders. And while there are a great many fine examples to choose from, I think the archetype must be Saint Petersburg, because of its simplicity: the core elements of engine-building are there, unobscured by a lot of extra, unrelated mechanisms.

In Saint Petersburg, you buy cards representing people. Each card you buy will grant you either money or victory points or both, every round. The more valuable the card, the higher the cost, of course.

So in the early game you (mostly) buy cards that give you money, so that you can eventually afford the expensive cards that give you lots of points. This is the essential decision of any engine-building game: when is it time to stop improving your engine and instead start milking it for all the points you can get?