Skip to Content

Comments and Questions on the October 2008 GDS Challenge

13 replies [Last post]
Brykovian
Brykovian's picture

Use this thread to post any comments, requests for clarifications, and questions regarding the October 2008 Game Design Showdown Challenge, entitled "Monster Up!" (found here: http://www.bgdf.com/node/420).

Enjoy,
-Bryk

Brykovian
Brykovian's picture
Before I was able to lock

Before I was able to lock down the comments feature on the main Challenge post ...

kiwasabi wrote:
This is a great topic! I'm new to both the board game designers forum and board game design in general, and I'm going to try and make this my first board game design contest entry.

So ... I relocated it here. Sorry, kiwasabi. *blush*

-Bryk

kiwasabi
Oops, I'm a newb, sorry about

Oops, I'm a newb, sorry about that :-p.

Brykovian
Brykovian's picture
kiwasabi wrote:Oops, I'm a

kiwasabi wrote:
Oops, I'm a newb, sorry about that :-p.

No problem at all ... I had forgotten to lock the other thread from comments. :-)

I look foward to seeing your entry.

-Bryk

kiwasabi
Thanks! I'm going to push to

Thanks! I'm going to push to make something cool.

I had a quick question: Is it acceptable to use an existing license/ip as the basis of your game? I'm not sure if I'd end up doing this, but just wanted to see if it was an option.

Brykovian
Brykovian's picture
kiwasabi wrote:I had a quick

kiwasabi wrote:
I had a quick question: Is it acceptable to use an existing license/ip as the basis of your game? I'm not sure if I'd end up doing this, but just wanted to see if it was an option.

I would avoid that.

-Bryk

kiwasabi
Ok no worries. I came up with

Ok no worries. I came up with a more compelling and original idea anyway.

kiwasabi
Argh, came up with one more

Argh, came up with one more question, sorry.