Skip to Content

[GDS] August 2010 - Critiques

7 replies [Last post]
metzgerism
metzgerism's picture

Use this area for critiques on the entries for August's Game Design Showdown, entitled "Sharing."

andygamer
Critiques from andygamer

Hey everyone – I’m a bit new around here. I’ve been designing board games as a lone hobbyist for a few years now and I just discovered this contest. Below are some explanations behind my votes. I hope the feedback is helpful!

Entry #1. Caravan This one was well thought-out, in my opinion. I like the concept of connecting tents and oases with multiple owners that can be “bumped”. I like being able to take over other peoples’ routes because I just like being destructive. Be careful, however, that this doesn’t lead to stalemates, as is often the issue when you can effectively undo a person’s hard work with little gain for yourself.

Upon initial inspection, it seems like the caravan raids are a bit too powerful. I’m not sure how rare they will be, but even if they are rare, it seems like this could really swing the whole game quickly.

I think the dual goals does work well here. You could work toward one goal, then suddenly switch when your plans don’t work out.

What seems to be missing here is a guaranteed way to make sure the game has an end. To me, most good games have some kind of device (e.g. “Step 3” in Power Grid) that prevents the whole game from going on forever.

Also, I like how the first player is chosen :)

Good ideas all the way through: 2pts.

Entry #2. Confidence – this one was mine.