Skip to Content

Feedback Request [GDS] Feb 2011 "King of the Nets"

12 replies [Last post]
Sir William

I'm following Seth's advice and starting a feedback thread for my game "KIng of the Nets." This is my first attempt at game design for a GDS contest. I'm looking for whatever feedback people have, specifically I'm curious about: rules/balance errors, what your first impression of the game was, and if it seems like something worth working on some more. Basically, I am new and trying to improve, so all feedback is appreciated.

GAME COPIED BELOW

King of the Nets or Love (with a Tennis Ball Symbol for the o)

King of the Nets is a game for two or four players which brings the strategy and pace of tennis anywhere.

Game Components

• 24 (4 Sets of) PolyHedral Dice (4/6/8/10/12/20)
    • Yellow Dice, 1s Replaced with Tennis Ball Symbols
  • 18 Half-Size Cards
    • 4 Smash Cards (2 for each player)
    • 4 Volley Cards (2 for each player)
    • 4 Lob Cards (2 for each player)
    • 6 Rule Cards (covering: game rules, tennis, tennis scoring, singles play, doubles play, tournaments)

Overview

Players play individual or doubles tennis using traditional tennis scoring and six dice (4/6/8/10/12/20), or swings, to win each point. Players choose five Strategy Cards out of three types of cards – Volley, Smash, and Lob– which they can use each game to enhance their swings and offset their opponents strategy.

Instruction for Setup

Each players takes one set of PolyHedral Dice (4/6/8/10/12/20) and chooses 5 of their 6 Strategy Cards. Players each roll a die to decide who serves. High roll serves.

About the Cards